Grantees

SACRAMENTO

BHC GRANTEES

Revised 9/5/14

 

INCREASING ACCESS TO FRESH FOOD

 

Valley Vision

Facilitation of the Regional Food Systems Collaborative. Coordination of FSC projects.

 

robyn.krock@valleyvision.org

916-325-1630

 

Soil Born Farms

Create a food system that supports more local food consumption and healthy food education for South Sacramento residents. Development of a how to manual for school gardens and curriculum for incorporating school gardens into multiple academic subject areas. Coordination of Harvest Sacramento (gleaning).

 

Shawn Harrison

sharrison@soilborn.org

 

Dominc Allamano

dallamano@soilborn.org

 

Randy Stannard

rstannard@soilborn.org

916-363-9685

 

Soil Born Farms Sub-contractors

 

Ubuntu Green

Garden builds

 

Charles Mason

charles@ubuntugreen.org

 

Katie Valenzuela

katie@ubuntugreen.org

 

Alchemist CDC

TA to corner stores to offer fresh produce.

 

Davida Douglas

davida@alchemistcdc.org

916-204-8260

 

LPC Consulting (evaluation)

Lynne Cannady

lynne@lpc-associates.com

916-448-8026

 

Tiffany Wilson

tiffany@ lpc-associates.com

916-448-8026

 

Sacramento Food Bank and Family Services

Distribution of food

 

Erik Kintzel

food@sacramentofoodbank.org

916-456-1980

 

Shannon Hardwicke (Growing Together)

sacgardenchica@gmail.com

 

Neighbor Works

Expand and further develop the Oak Park Farmers Market and Oak Park Crop Swap.

 

Sharon Eghigian

sharon@nwsac.org

916-452-5356

 

Health Education Council

There are 2 components to this grant. 1) Improve communication and coordination among health navigators working with Latino communities. 2) Build the capacity of youth to implement an advocacy campaign to reduce sugar sweetened beverage (SSB) consumption and improve school food service menu offerings through education, social media and policy initiatives.

 

Debra Oto-Kent, Executive Director

dotokent@healthedcouncil.org

 

Ramona Mosley

rmosley@healthedcouncil.org

(916) 556-3344

 

Evan Schmidt

eeschmidt@ucdavis.edu

 

California Food Literacy Center

Train 15 to 20 individuals on a food curriculum targeting school age children and youth from limited resource communities.

 

Amber Stott

amber@californiafoodliteracy.org

 

IMPROVING THE BUILT ENVIRONMENT–ADVOCATING FOR HEALTH-PROMOTING LAND USE POLICIES AND PROJECTS

 

Ubuntu Green

Strengthen the capacity of residents and youth in South Sacramento to advocate for health promoting land use, transportation and community development policies.

 

Charles Mason

charles@ubuntugreen.org

 

Katie Valenzuela

katie@ubuntugreen.org

 

Walk Sacramento

Teri Duarte

tduarte@walksacramento.org

 

Terry Preston

tpreston@walksacramento.org

 

Sacramento Housing Alliance

Support work around regional policy in the areas of housing, transportation, hunger, regional planning and environmental health. The Boards and Commissions Leadership Institute (BCLI)/Increase the representation of communities of color and low income communities on boards and commissions in the Sacramento region and to provide members and attendees of events a better understanding of the health and equity impacts of land use decisions and other government actions.

 

Darryl Rutherford, ED

 

Veronica Beaty

veronica@sachousingalliance.org

916-455-4900

 

Walk Sacramento

Convene and facilitate community pedestrian safety meetings to prioritize road improvements needed in the Stockton/Fruitridge area. Conduct walk assessment along Franklin Blvd.

 

Teri Duarte

tduarte@walksacramento.org

 

Terry Preston

tpreston@walksacramento.org

 

Sacramento Tree Foundation

Increase the number of trees planted along the Stockton and Fruitridge area to reduce speed. Youth will conduct business walks to promote the importance of trees to business owners and help plant trees leveraged from SMUD.

 

Cindy Blain

Cindy@sactree.com

 

Sacramento Area Bicycle Advocates

Conduct bike assessments along Franklin Blvd and Stockton/Fruitridge area.

 

Jim Brown

jim@sacbike.org

 

North Franklin Business Improvement District

The grant will help fund a series of community meetings and door-to-door surveys crucial to gathering information about education, employment, transportation, health, access to healthy foods, housing and myriad other community assets and needs. It will help pay for the graphic artist needed to illustrate the data collected and prepare conceptual drawings of new streetscapes and urban designs for a revamped business corridor.

 

Marti Brown

marti@northfranklindistrict.com

 

INCREASING ACCESS TO HEALTH CARE

 

Cover the Kids

Strengthen and expand the public/private outreach and enrollment infrastructure in the Sacramento Building Healthy Communities (SBHC) target area by providing outreach, enrollment, retention and utilization (OERU) services and having the ability to streamline health coverage applications and referrals of other social service programs through the Department of Human Assistance.

 

Kelly Bennett Wofford

KBennett-Wofford@cityofsacramento.org

 

Joil Xiong

JXiong@cityofsacramento.org

916.808.3803

 

Sacramento City Unified School District

Strengthen the infrastructure of Sacramento City Unified School District to increase school attendance and safety in schools by becoming a portal for health, wellness and human services for students and their families. (Connect Center)

 

barbara-kronick@sac-city.k12.ca.us

 

Capitol Community Health Network

The Community Health Navigator (CHN) project being coordinated by CCHN is a collaboration of culturally competent social service agencies working with community health providers.  Paid and volunteer CHNs will provide access to health education, identify families in need of health interventions, navigate those families through the health system and help them find permanent health homes. Focus is on Latino and SE Asian communities.

 

Jim Ellsworth, ED

jellsworth@capitolhealthnetwork.org

 

Michelle Cordoza

Mcordoza@capitolhealthnetwork.org

916-447-7222
Capitol Community Health Network Sub-Contractors

 

Hmong Women’s Heritage Association

Kendra Thao

kendra@hmongwomenheritage.org

916-394-1405
Southeast Asian Assistance Center

May Ying Ly

myingly@yahoo.com

916-421-1036

 

La Familia Counseling Center

Rachel Rios

rachelr@lafcc.org

 

Health Education Council

There are 2 components to this grant. 1) Improve communication and coordination among health navigators working with Latino communities. 2) Build the capacity of youth to implement an advocacy campaign to reduce sugar sweetened beverage (SSB) consumption and improve school food service menu offerings through education, social media and policy initiatives.

 

Debra Oto-Kent, Executive Director

dotokent@healthedcouncil.org

 

Ramona Mosley

rmosley@healthedcouncil.org

(916) 556-3344

 

Sacramento County

Development of a strategic plan to Reduce African American Child Deaths

 

Linda Fong

FongLi@saccounty.net

 

COMMUNITY ORGANIZING/CIVIC ENGAGEMENT

 

Sacramento ACT

Empower residents and congregation leaders of South Sacramento to develop campaigns to improve access to health care including the undocumented, reduce youth violence, services for re-entry, and increase school attendance.

 

Ashlin Malouf-Spinden

ashlin@sacact.org

 

Annie Fox

annie@sacact.org

916-447-7959

 

Hmong Women’s Heritage Association

Build the capacity of the Hmong, Mien and Lao communities to strengthen their relationships with each other and to work with government agencies to improve health and education outcomes in their communities.

 

Kendra Thao, Executive Director

Email: kendra@hmongwomenheritage.org

Phone: (916) 394-1405

Fax: (916) 392-9326

 

Hmong Women’s Heritage Association and Sub-Contractors

United Iu-Mien Community, Inc.

6000 Lemon Hill Avenue

Office:  916-383-3083

 

Nai Saechao

nai@hmongwomenheritage.org

 

Nenick Vu

nenickvu@gmail.com

 

ACCE

Increase the capacity of community leaders from the Sacramento BHC target area to advocate for issues that help build healthier neighborhood environments and increased access to health homes.

 

Anthony Panarese

apanarese@calorganize.org

 

Amelia Garduno

agarduno@calorganize.org

916-690-9375

 

David Mazariegos

DMazariegos@calorganize.org

 

Western Services Workers Association

Association is currently doing door to door grassroots canvassing in BHC target area. Interests are food and health access.

 

Elena Sanchez

5040 Perry

456-1771

 

Freedom Bound Center/Sol Collective

Build leadership among BHC residents and continue to mentor and engage youth on community issues through food, arts and culture. Youth will create videos and music about community violence and coordinate discussions on developing strategies to reduce violence. Sol Collective will facilitate programming that will help residents and youth become mentally and physically healthy through traditional cultural healing and arts by holding Curanderismoworkshops to teach residents about traditional holistic medicine, and teaching youth traditional Aztec dance. They will also build resident leadership through their Activism School and groom residents to be a part of their Curanderismo Leadership Board.

 

Estella Sanchez

estella@solcollective.org

 

 

YOUTH DEVELOPMENT

 

Sacramento City Unified School District

Policy development and expansion of alternatives to school discipline throughout Sacramento City Unified School District to increase school attendance and safety in schools. Alternatives include Men’s Leadership Academy, restorative justice, SEL and PBIS.

 

Koua Franz

koua-franz@sac-city.k12.ca.us

 

Stacey Bell

Stacey-Bell@scusd.edu

 

Adrian Williams

Adrian-Williams@scusd.edu

 

Nehemiah Community Reinvestment Fund

Improve school climate by developing youth leadership using a strengths-based approach and training teachers on how to work with youth. Facilitate intensive youth leadership program.

 

Claudia Jasin

CJasin@cityofsacramento.org

 

Way Up Sub-contractor

Youth Development Network

 

Adrian Ruiz

Adrian@ydnetwork.org

 

Vicki Stockbridge

vicki@ydnetwork.org

 

Mental Health America of Northern California          

LGBTQ Youth Collaborative/Build the capacity of youth-serving organizations and youth to work together to improve and enhance support to LGBTQ youth and their families in South Sacramento.

 

Nicole Scanlan

NScanlan@mhanca.org

 

La Familia

Build the capacity of youth from high risk underserved populations in South Sacramento to become leaders and advocates to promote reductions in youth violence, to increase educational outcomes and promote health issues that impact their communities.

 

Rachel Rios

rachelr@lafcc.org

 

David Banuelos

916-452-3601

 

People Reaching Out

Build youth leadership skills @ American Legion, Sacramento and Hiram Johnson High Schools. Youth to develop an advocacy/action plan. Coordination of BHC youth leadership team.

 

Staci Anderson

stacia@peoplereachingout.org

916-576-3300

 

Karen Nelson

karenn@peoplereachingout.org

 

Alondra Young

alondray@peoplereachingout.org

 

PRO sub-contractor UC Davis School of Education

Work with People Reaching Out to coordinate building youth leadership skills @ American Legion, Sacramento and Hiram Johnson High Schools.

 

Kindra Montgomery

kfmontgomery@ucdavis.edu

 

belreyes@ucdavis.edu

 

916 INK

Creative writing project with youth voices: Youth voices will be published in a book.

Katie McCleary

mccleark@gmail.com

 

Sacramento Independent Learning Center/Black Parallel School Board

Support youth in their efforts to develop an education and advocacy campaign on school suspensions and expulsions. Coordinate LCAP coalition.

 

Carl Pinkston

lenin@igc.org

 

Darryl White

darrywh1@aol.com

 

Center for Community Health and Well Being

Coordinates the Girls On The Rise Leadership Program.

 

Wendy Petko

wpetko.cchwb@yahoo.com

 

Shannon Read

sshaw.cchwb@yahoo.com

 

Kristine Lee

klee.cchwb@yahoo.com

 

Freedom Bound Center/Sol Collective

Build leadership among BHC residents and continue to mentor and engage youth on community issues through food, arts and culture. Youth will create videos and music about community violence and coordinate discussions on developing strategies to reduce violence. Sol Collective will facilitate programming that will help residents and youth become mentally and physically healthy through traditional cultural healing and arts by holding Curanderismoworkshops to teach residents about traditional holistic medicine, and teaching youth traditional Aztec dance. They will also build resident leadership through their Activism School and groom residents to be a part of their Curanderismo Leadership Board.

 

Estella Sanchez

estella@solcollective.org

 

Freedom Bound Center Sub-Contractor

Youth spoken word via open mic

 

Andreas “Dre T” Tillman Jr

Foreign Native

fntribe@gmail.com

 

The Parent/Teacher Home Visit Project

To collect chronic absenteeism student level data on students that have had to move from the 5 closed school sites to new schools.  Coordinate a home visit with each of these students in the summer or early fall of 2013.

 

Carrie Rose

www.teachervisits.org

home-visits@sbcglobal.net

 

 

REDUCING YOUTH VIOLENCE

 

Sacramento City Unified School District

Develop and expand youth led violence, harassment and bullying prevention programs.

 

barbara-kronick@sac-city.k12.ca.us

 

Strategies for Youth

Partnership with Sacramento Police Department (SPD) and the Sacramento County Unified School District (SCUSD) to implement a comprehensive, capacity-building project to expand officer skills for working with youth, increase youths’ understanding of school codes of conduct, and promote use and development of best practices for preventing, intervening and reducing school violence.

 

Lisa H. Thurau

lht@strategiesforyouth.org

 

Lisa Hinz

LHinz@pd.cityofsacramento.org

 

INCREASE PHYSICAL ACTIVITY AND HEALTHY EATING

 

Sacramento City Unified School District

Implementing a new standardized district wide Physical Education program (EPEC)

 

Heather Deckard

Heather-Deckard@sac-city.k12.ca.us

 

Healthcorps

Support a health educational and peer mentoring program at American Legion High School designed to engage and empower high school students and their families to become neighborhood ambassadors for healthy eating and active living in the BHC target area.

 

Rose Borillo

Educational Program Supervisor

rose.borillo@healthcorps.org

 

Center for Community Health and Well Being

Coordination of the Girls on the Rise program.

 

Wendy Petko

wpetko.cchwb@yahoo.com

 

Shannon Read

sshaw.cchwb@yahoo.com

 

Kristine Lee

klee.cchwb@yahoo.com

(916) 558-4820

 

Yes2Kollege

The African American Women’s Health Legacy (AAWHL) will empower and educate mothers and daughters to take control and better manage their disease by increasing their access to medical professionals, self-management, nutrition, and physical fitness, for the prevention and intervention of Type 2 Diabetes and Hypertension.

 

Sharon Chandler

shabarney@aol.com

916-230-1631

 

TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE

 

Legal Services of Northern California

Strengthen and expand mechanisms for linking individual health, housing and transportation problems in South Sacramento to policy and systemic changes in the local Sacramento area and statewide.

 

Amy Williams

awilliams@lsnc.net

916-551-2150

 

BOYS AND MEN OF COLOR

 

Asian Resources/Sac BHC Hub

Convene the annual Sacramento Boys and Men of Color Summit. Conduct Pre- and post-summit work/activities.

 

Kim Williams

kim@sacbhc.org

 

Always Knocking

Promote positive, social, emotional and educational opportunities for young men and boys. Establish a team of elders that can mentor young men.

 

Greg King

loyalkingent@yahoo.com

 

CONTRACTORS

 

LPC Consulting

Evaluation of BHC grantee projects: Sac BHC Hub, SCUSD’s Connect Center, Anti-Bullying Prevention, and Peer Mediation programs, and the healthy land use engagement project.

 

Lynne Cannady

lynne@lpc-associates.com

 

Tiffany Wilson

Tiffany@ lpc-associates.com

916-448-8026

 

Sacramento City Unified School District

Chronic Absence Project: Assist SCUSD with the development of strategies to focus health and health-related resources in high need areas and identify potential systemic changes within the Sacramento City Unified School District.

barbara-kronick@sac-city.k12.ca.us

 

SCUSD sub-contractors

UC Davis

Nancy Erbstein

nerbstein@ucdavis.edu

 

Community Link

Alan Lange

alange@communitylinkcr.org

916-447-7063

 

Isaac Gonzales

Work with grantees and youth on disseminating information to community and youth story telling.

isaac@sacbhc.org

 

Valley Vision

Help facilitate collaboration sessions for BHC workgroups

 

Dale Ainsworth, Valley Vision

dale.ainsworth@valleyvision.org

916-325-1630

 

Elaine Abelaye

Assist community engagement and heath access workgroups. Strategic planning for Sac BHC hub.

elaine@everydayimpactconsulting.com

Comments are closed.